Three-peat for Gwinnett Majic Hoops

July 25, 2011

The end was anticlimatic, yet still pretty satisfying.

Playing some of their best basketball of the season, the Gwinnett Majic won their third straight World Basketball Association championship this past weekend with a 113-91 rout of the Conyers Court Kings in the finals. Up 71-41 at halftime, the local team cruised to the title behind three-time league MVP B.J. Puckett.

The Dacula grad had 21 points and 14 rebounds, despite spending more time on the bench than usual in the blowout. The 6-foot-9 Puckett had 33 points and 13 boards in a 103-96 semifinal win over the Rome Gladiators.

"B.J., it's all centered around him," said Majic head coach David Akin, a Berkmar grad.

Shiloh grad Jon Mandeldove also had a huge title game with 25 points, 11 rebounds and six blocked shots. Norcross' Reggie Anderson (14 points, four steals) and Berkmar's Adrien Borders (14 points, five assists) also were big contributors.

Fellow Gwinnett products Alex Weekes and Mike Konanec of Berkmar and Jesse Wheeler of Duluth also were on the championship team this season.

"It just goes to show you how much basketball talent came through Gwinnett and is still coming through Gwinnett," Akin said.

By Will Hammock, Gwinnett Daily Post, July 25, 2011

Gwinnett Majic Roll To Second Straight WBA Championship

The Gwinnett Majic steamrolled the Franklin Knights 133-113, Saturday night at Bogan Park in Buford, Ga., to win their second straight World Basketball Association Exposure League (WBA) championship. 

Gwinnett held a 33-24 lead after the opening quarter, but Franklin outscored the Majic 43-25 in the second period to take a 67-58 lead into the locker room at halftime. Gwinnett came back in the third quarter to tie the game at 91 heading into the final quarter and the Majic took control from there, outscoring Franklin 42-22 to pull away and win the title. 

The Majic were led by B.J. Puckett, who finished with a game-high 37 points and 10 rebounds. Adrian Borders had 19 points and six rebounds, Mike Sloan finished with 17 points, seven rebounds and five assists, Marcus Brown pitched in 16 points and seven rebounds and Patrick Shokpeka netted 14 points in the victory. 

Charles Little led Franklin with 27 points. He was followed by Myles Thrash (22), Jerrell Houston (17) and Maurice Williams (11) as the Knights advanced to the WBA championship game in their first season. 

Gwinnett Majic Lead WBA All-Star Selections

The Gwinnett Majic, who recently defeated the Franklin Knights to win their second straight World Basketball Association Exposure League(WBA) championship, led the league's all-star selections with five players being honored. 

Gwinnett center B.J. Puckett and guard Javon Randolph were named First Team All-WBA, along with guard Stefhon Hannah of the Marietta Storm and forwards Willie Irick (Florida Flight) and Jerrell Houston (Franklin Knights). 

The Franklin Knights placed a pair of players on the Second Team, with guard Myles Thrash and forward Eddie Ard being selected. They were joined by guard Trevor Bing (Florida), forward Lance Perique (Marietta) and center Marcus Brown (Gwinnett) on the second team. 

Gwinnett and Marietta had two players apiece on the Third Team, with guard Parrish Brown and center Casey Love representing the Storm and guard Adrien Borders and forward Mike Sloan coming from the Majic. The team was rounded out by the pick of Anthony Wilkins of the Decatur Court Kings. 

Gwinnett head coach David Akin was named the league's Coach of the Year and Majic owner/general manager Brandon Williams won the Owner/GM of the Year. 

The Team of the Year award went to Franklin, which advanced to the WBA championship game in its first season in the league.


1st Team All-WBA

G Stefhon Hannah, Marietta Storm
G Javon Randolph, Gwinnett Majic
F Willie Irick, Florida Flight
F Jerrell Houston, Franklin Knights
C B.J. Puckett, Gwinnett Majic

2nd Team All-WBA

G Myles Thrash, Franklin Knights
G Trevor Bing, Florida Flight
F Eddie Ard, Franklin Knights
F Lance Perique, Marietta Storm
C Marcus Brown, Gwinnett Majic

3rd Team All-WBA

G Parrish Brown, Marietta Storm
G Adrien Borders, Gwinnett Majic
F Mike Sloan, Gwinnett Majic
F Anthony Wilkins, Decatur Court Kings
C Casey Love, Marietta Storm

Coach Of The Year: David Akin, Gwinnett Majic 

GM/Owner of the Year: Brandon Williams, Gwinnett Majic 

Team Of Year: Franklin Knights